Sunday, January 31, 2016

THE YEAR OF THE FLOOD- Margaret Atwood

This is the second book in the "Oryx and Crake" Trilogy.

This book take place in the same time frame as "Oryx and Crake" but is set out in the "pleeblands rather than the Corporate Compounds where the first book is set.

"The story begins in the present in Gardener Year Twenty Five- the year of the Waterless Flood, as the Gardeners call the plague."

This story revolves around two survivors, Ren who is in isolation in a sex club she works in, and Toby who managers to barricade herself in a spa she is working in when the plague hits.

Several characters from the previous book make appearances as the story of these two women is told in back story.

This like "Oryx and Crake" is brilliant and "unputdownable" , Atwood's imagination is stupendous and the story rolls along so quickly with its insight and humour that the book ended way to soon.

You could read this as a standalone book but its recommended you start with the first book and begin this journey.

No comments:

Post a Comment